The Sideline

Wednesday, August 24, 2016 This Week's Paper
Abes top Lions to win Bellarmine Classic

Justice Martion scored 13 of his 15 points in the first half, and Trevion Brown scored 13 of his game-high 16 points after the break as Lincoln won the Bellarmine Prep Holiday Classic with a 62-48 victory over Bellarmine Prep on Saturday night.

Martion dominated in the paint early, taking a behind-the-back pass from Brown, slamming a dunk while being fouled, and converting the free throw to tie it 15-15 with 5:36 until halftime.

Lions guard Carson Hollyoak drained a three-pointer to give the Lions a 20-18 lead with 2:37 until the break, but it would be their final lead of the game. Isaiah Smalls answered with a layup at the other end, beginning a 14-0 run for the Abes that would stretch until early in the second half.

The Lions, meanwhile, struggled with foul trouble and turnovers all night, as star guard Mar’kese Jackson had nailed two three-pointers in the first quarter before getting in foul trouble. He later fouled out with 5:28 to go in the game and finished with eight points.

Freshman Londrell Hamilton put the Abes up 32-20 with a pull-up jumper two minutes into the third quarter, but Lions sophomore Malachi Flynn answered with a three-pointer at the 5:24 mark – the Lions’ first points in over five minutes. Flynn – who finished with a team-high 15 points on 6-for-11 shooting – pulled Bellarmine within 40-33 with a jumper at the start of the fourth quarter.

Lincoln then delivered their final blow, as Cameron Collins started a 17-4 run over the next four minutes with a rebound and put-back, and Brown capped the stretch with back-to-back three-pointers. Collins finished with 13 points and nine rebounds, and Josiah Barsh added nine points, five rebounds and two steals for the Abes. Will Wolf added 10 points in the paint for the Lions.


LINCOLN: Trevion Brown 16, Justice Martion 15, Cameron Collins 13, Josiah Barsh 9, Londrell Hamilton 5, Isaiah Smalls 4

BELLARMINE PREP: Malachi Flynn 15, Will Wolf 10, Mar'kese Jackson 8, Carson Hollyoak 5, Drew Griffin 5, Garrett McKay 2, Dan Joyce 2, Rex Bodoia 1

Tacoma Rainiers