The Things We Like


The artworks of photographer Jason Graefen and painter Andre Pace are showing at The Mix (635 St. Helens Ave.) through February. Graefen’s work focuses on the parts of nature and life that can be hidden from the eye, whether peaceful and calm or with a flare of dramatics. With a meditative mood in paint, Pace explores topical issues through traces of modern and contemporary art. 


Seven-time Emmy winner Ed Asner brings his one-man show “Ed Asner as FDR” on Feb. 8 at the Pantages Theater, 7:30 p.m. The most decorated Emmy winning actor in history, Asner brings to life FDR's fireside chats and tours his time in office – including the Depression, the steps leading up to WWII and the war years. For tickets, call the Broadway Center Box Office at (253) 591.5894 or online at


World renowned percussion dance and music group KKOCDOOSEH brings their traditional folk art from Siheung, South Korea to Tacoma on Feb. 7. A professional Samulnori group blending traditional rhythms and music for today’s modern, urban audiences, KKOCDOOSEH plays at 7 p.m. at Pantages Theater. Presented by Asia Pacific Cultural Center. $15 tickets available at Broadway Center, (253) 591-5806.  


Author and renowned mountaineer Nick O’Connell will give a free reading/slide show from his new mountaineering novel, “The Storms of Denali,” on Jan. 29, 7 p.m. at the Tacoma Public Library. “The Storms of Denali” is a disaster epic in the tradition of “Into Thin Air” and “The Perfect Storm.” Four young men set out to climb a new route on the 20,320-foot peak, the highest and coldest summit in North America. They battle avalanches, fierce winds, and mind-numbing cold to ascend a classic new line up the south face. In confronting these obstacles, the group splinters, leading inexorably to tragedy.


On Jan. 30 at 4:30 p.m., STAR Center (3873 S. 66th St.) will host a free preview of “Circus Oz: From the Ground Up,” playing ??? at Broadway Center… Known as Australia's National Circus, Circus Oz features the beautiful and the absurd, the downright kooky and breathtakingly brilliant thrills as powerful acrobatics defy gravity, graceful aerial artists win your heart, and knock-about comedy bowls you over and live musicians that energize the whole show. Join this wildly popular company in a glorious rebellion against the generic as they deliver a delightfully ridiculous show generally appropriate for all ages. No tickets are necessary for this free preview, just mark your calendar, load the kids in the car and show up.


T-Town apparel Clear Choice Cannabis Evergreen Vapor Sound Transit - Tacoma Trestle Project

Letter to the Editor

If you would like to contact us directly, please submit a Letter to the Editor here.